Section: Dissemination

Promoting Scientific Activities

Scientific Events Organisation

Member of Organizing Committees
  • Sylvain Lazard organized with S. Whitesides (Victoria University) the 15th Workshop on Computational Geometry at the Bellairs Research Institute of McGill University in Feb. (1 week workshop on invitation).

  • Monique Teillaud co-organized the workshop 20 years of CGAL, with Efi Fogel, Michael Hoffmann, and Emo Welzl, Zurich, Switzerland, September 10-11, and she gave a talk.

Scientific Events Selection

Member of Conference Program Committees
  • Monique Teillaud was a member of the program committee of EuroCG, European Workshop on Computational Geometry.

  • All members of the team are regular reviewers for the conferences of our field, namely the Symposium on Computational Geometry (SoCG) and the International Symposium on Symbolic and Algebraic Computation (ISSAC) and also SODA, CCCG, EuroCG.


Member of the Editorial Boards
  • Monique Teillaud is a managing editor of JoCG, Journal of Computational Geometry. She is also a member of the Editorial Board of IJCGA, International Journal of Computational Geometry and Applications. She resigned from the Editorial Board of CGTA, Computational Geometry: Theory and Applications, after unsuccessfully trying to convince the Editorial Board to leave Elsevier and move to a free (libre and gratis) open-access model.

  • Marc Pouget and Monique Teillaud are members of the CGAL editorial board.

  • Olivier Devillers resigned from the Editorial Board of Graphical Models (Elsevier) after discussion to move to a free open-access model.

Reviewer - Reviewing Activities
  • All members of the team are regular reviewers for the journals of our field, namely Discrete and Computational Geometry (DCG), Computational Geometry. Theory and Applications (CGTA), Journal of Computational Geometry (JoCG), International Journal on Computational Geometry and Applications (IJCGA), Journal on Symbolic Computations (JSC), SIAM Journal on Computing (SICOMP), Mathematics in Computer Science (MCS), etc.

Invited Talks

  • Olivier Devillers was invited to give a talk at the geometry week organized by GipsaLab in Grenoble.

  • Guillaume Moroz was invited to give talks at the LIGM seminar in Marne-la-Vallée university, at the SpecFun team seminary in Inria Saclay and at the MSDOS workshop in CIRM.

  • Monique Teillaud was invited to give a talk talk at the seminar Computer Science meets Mathematics of the University of Luxembourg, February 8: “CGAL, geometry made practical”. She was invited to give a talk at the Mittagsseminar of Institute of Theoretical Computer Science of ETH Zürich on September 8: “Delaunay triangulations on orientable surfaces of low genus”.

Seminar Organization

We invited:

  • Kacper Pluta (LIGM - Laboratoire d'Informatique Gaspard-Monge),

  • Mickaël Buchet (Tohoku University).

  • Andrew Yarmola (University of Luxembourg).

Leadership within the Scientific Community

Steering Committees
  • M. Teillaud has been elected Chair of the Steering Committee of the Symposium on Computational Geometry (SoCG). She is a member of the Steering Committee of the European Symposium on Algorithms (ESA).

Research Administration

Hiring committees
  • Sylvain Lazard was president of the hiring committee for a Professor position (UL/École des Mines/LORIA).

  • Monique Teillaud was the representative of LORIA in the hiring committee for an Associate Professor (MCF) position (École des Mines/LORIA) and composed the committee with the president. She was also a member of the Inria CR2 Nancy - Grand Est interview committee and of the hiring committee for a Professor position (FST/LORIA).

National committees
  • L. Dupont is a member of “Commission Pédagogique Nationale” (CPN) Information-Communication / Métiers du Multimédia et de l'Internet.

  • M. Teillaud is a member of the Scientific Board of the Société Informatique de France (SIF).

  • M. Teillaud is a member of the working group for the BIL, Base d'Information des Logiciels of Inria.

Local Committees and Responsabilities
  • S. Lazard: Head of the PhD and Post-doc hiring committee for Inria Nancy-Grand Est (since 2009). Member of the Bureau de la mention informatique of the École Doctorale IAE+M (since 2009). Head of the Mission Jeunes Chercheurs for Inria Nancy-Grand Est (since 2011). Head of the Department Algo at LORIA (since 2014). Member of the Conseil Scientifique of LORIA (since 2014).

  • G. Moroz is member of the Mathematics Olympiades committee of the Nancy-Metz academy. G. Moroz is member of the Comité des utilisateurs des moyens informatiques

  • M. Pouget is elected at the Comité de centre, and member of the board of the Charles Hermite federation of labs. M. Pouget is secretary of the board of AGOS-Nancy.

  • M. Teillaud is a member of the BCP, Bureau du Comité des Projets and of the CDT, Commission de développement technologique of Inria Nancy - Grand Est.

  • M. Teillaud is maintaining the Computational Geometry Web Pages http://www.computational-geometry.org/, hosted by Inria Nancy - Grand Est since December. This site offers general interest information for the computational geometry community, in particular the Web proceedings of the Video Review of Computational Geometry, part of the Annual/international Symposium on Computational Geometry.