Section: Dissemination

Promoting Scientific Activities

Scientific Events Organization

General Chair, Scientific Chair
  • Panayotis Mertikopoulos was the general co-chair of the GEL 2016 international workshop on Geometry, Evolution and Learning in Games

Member of the Organizing Committees
  • Nicolas Gast served as Publicity Chair for ACM Sigmetrics 2016

  • Jean-Marc Vincent served in the Organization Committee of the “Decision-making and Optimization under Uncertainty” summer school for young researchers, and the joint LICIA-EXASE workshop

Scientific Events Selection

Chair of Conference Program Committees

Arnaud Legrand was chair of the performance evaluation track of Europar 2016.

Member of the Conference Program Committees

The members of the team regularly review numerous papers for international conferences.

  • Bruno Gaujal and Nicolas Gast were members of the Technical Program Committee of ACM Sigmetrics 2016

  • Nicolas Gast was a member of the Technical Program Committee of ACM E-Energy 2016.

  • Panayotis Mertikopoulos was a member of the Technical Program Committee of VALUETOOLS 2016.

  • E. Veronica Belmega was a member of the Technical Program Committee of IEEE Globecom 2016, IEEE ICC 2016, IEEE BlackSeaComm 2016, and IEEE WCNC 2016

  • Jean-Marc Vincent was a member of the Technical Program Committees of ASMTA 2016, SimulTech 2016 and EPEW 2016

  • Arnaud Legrand was a member of the Technical Program Committees of HiPC 2016, ICPP 2016, and COMPAS 2016.


Member of the Editorial Boards
  • E. Veronica Belmega is an executive editor for the Transactions on Emerging Telecommunications Technologies.

Reviewer - Reviewing Activities

The members of the POLARIS team regularly review articles for JPDC, DAM, IEEE Transactions on Networking/Automatic Control/Cloud Computing/Parallel and Distributed Computing/Information Theory/Signal Processing/Wireless Communications, SIAM Journal on Optimization/Control and Optimization, and others.

Invited Talks

  • Bruno Gaujal was a plenary speaker at ECQT 2016 (European Conference on Queuing Theory)

  • Bruno Gaujal was a plenary speaker at “Journées SDA2 2016” (Groupe de Travail "Systèmes Dynamiques, Automates et Algorithmes” of the CNRS thematic group GDR Informatique Mathématique.

  • Panayotis Mertikopoulos was a plenary speaker at the ADGO 2016 workshop on Algorithms and Dynamics for Games and Optimization

  • Panayotis Mertikopoulos gave an invited tutorial on “Online Optimization for Wireless Communications” at the Orange workshop on Learning and Networks.

  • Panayotis Mertikopoulos gave a two-part tutorial on “Game Theory, Learning and Cognitive Radio” at CROWNCOM 2016.

Leadership within the Scientific Community

Arnaud Legrand has organized a series of webinars on reproducible research and whose aim is to introduce the audience to one particular aspect of reproducible research and to illustrate how this aspect can be addressed with state-of-the-art tools. To this end, experts of a given topic are invited and their seminar is screencast so that researchers from other universities can easily follow it. So far, the following topics have been covered:

  1. Introduction (reproducible research, challenges, ethic, ...) to reproducible research. Producing replicable articles and managing a laboratory notebook.

  2. Controlling your experimental environment

  3. Numerical reproducibility

  4. Logging and backing up your work: a not so short introduction to git for research

  5. Preserving software: ensuring availability and tracking provenance

  6. Reproducible science in bioinformatics: current status, solutions and research opportunities

All the corresponding videos and materials are available at the following address: https://github.com/alegrand/RR_webinars/

Scientific Expertise

  • E. Veronica Belmega was a member of the jury for the GRETSI–GdR ISIS thematic research group “best thesis” award

  • Panayotis Mertikopoulos is a member of the steering committee (comité de liaison) of the optimization and decision theory group of the French Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SMAI).

  • Jean-Marc Vincent is a member of the scientific committees of the CIST (Centre International des Sciences du Territoire)

Research Administration

  • Bruno Gaujal is member of the “bureau du LIG” (Laboratoire d'informatique de Grenoble)

  • Bruno Gaujal is member of the “bureau du CP” of Inria Grenoble.

  • Bruno Gaujal was member of the CR2 admissibility jury of Inria-Grenoble.

  • Panayotis Mertikopoulos serves as the graduate students liaison (chargé de mission doctorants) for the Laboratoire d'Informatique de Grenoble

  • Arnaud Legrand was coordinator of the Inria evaluation of the “Distributed and High Performance Computing” theme.